Drunk Driving Information
What You Should Know After Getting Arrested
Under Texas law, there are two charges that can result from driving under the influence of alcohol: driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence of alcohol. The criminal defense law firm of Crain ♦ Lewis, LLP, in Dallas, Texas, provides aggressive, knowledgeable defense you can rely on. Whether you are an adult charged with DWI or your minor-aged youth has been charged with DUI, we never forget that there is a person behind the charge. We know that this is a difficult time for you, and we are ready to help.
What is driving while intoxicated (DWI)?
If the holder of a private driver's license is arrested for driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% in Texas, he or she may be charged with driving while intoxicated or DWI. A first offense for DWI is a class B misdemeanor. If the driver is arrested for a high BAC of .12% or higher, increased penalties may apply. If a driver has been convicted of DWI within the past ten years, or caused an accident with injuries, he or she may be charged with felony DWI. In addition, driving while intoxicated with a passenger under the age of fifteen may also result in a felony DWI charge.
Commercial license DWI
If you hold a commercial driver's license, you may be charged with DWI for a blood alcohol content of .04%. A person holding a commercial driver's license does not necessarily have to be driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the arrest. You will still be held to a higher standard. A DWI conviction in Texas means an automatic revocation of a commercial driver's license.
What is driving under the influence (DUI)?
Drivers under the age of twenty-one are subject to being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol. Texas is a zero tolerance state, which means that any detectible BAC at all can result in DUI charges.
For a minor's first DUI offense, the possible penalties include sixty days license suspension, a fine of up to $500, community service, and mandatory enrollment in an alcohol-awareness program.
If the driver is under eighteen years of age, a DUI charge will require a parent or guardian to accompany all court appearances. The penalties may include community service, alcohol-awareness training, and a suspended driver's license. The parents are also subject to being ordered to accompany the minor to the awareness class. Successful completion of the penalties may result in having the minor's record expunged (cleared) upon turning twenty-one years old.
If the minor's BAC exceeds .08% or higher, the penalties may be greatly increased, including a fine of up to $2000, 180 days in jail, and one year license suspension.
Effective Defense for Charges of Driving While Intoxicated
Free consultation ▪ Se habla español ▪ Contact us day or night
Contact us today if you have been charged with driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence.